top of page

My Favorite Mediterranean Bowl

One of my favorite places to eat in Isla Vista is Hummus Republic, but I don't want to spend $16 every time I want a fresh bowl! Here's my recipe to make a Mediterranean bowl at home!

Ingredients:

  • Quinoa

  • Chickpeas

  • Kale (or other greens)

  • Hummus (Tzatziki & Feta are my favorite)

  • Cucumber

  • Red onions

  • Lemon

  • Olive oil


  1. Start by preparing your quinoa and chickpeas. According to your quinoa recipe, heat it up as necessary. For the chickpeas, rinse and strain them and make sure to peel the skin before assembling in the bowl. You may roast them if you like, but personally I just like to salt them and eat them as is!

  2. Wash your other vegetables and chop into edible pieces.

  3. Next all you have to do is assemble! Put your base of quinoa and chickpeas at the bottom, followed by a layer of kale, and then a scoop of your favorite hummus(es). Add all of your cucumbers, red onions, a squeeze of lemon, and a drizzle of olive oil and you're all done! Enjoy!

  4. Extra: Pair with a side of pita bread!

bottom of page